Day 28 – logic or instinct – let tech help – Assistive Technology #28daysofwriting

IMG_1060-0

Well I’ve come to the end of my 28 day series. An idea started by @tombarrett and picked up and run with by @staffrm, @mrlockyer & @pepsmccrea.

And the final push I needed was @ictevangelist’s tweet offering a free Staffrm mug for anyone who manages the full #28daysofwriting.

I have been encouraged daily by @digitaldaisies who preferred the free kit blogs of the first 8 days. Penny works for a seriously underfunded alternative provision with very slow broadband – she writes about it here. digitaldaisies.wordpress.com/2…

@rondelle has also followed the series with lots of encouraging comments. @hrogerson has asked pertinent questions which prompted a blog from Foldr about eportfolios.

And the wonderful @Sue_Cowley has cheered from the sidelines writing 28 Days midway after someone was critical of the idea; concerned it produced poor quality writing. suecowley.wordpress.com/2015/0…

My SEN buddies, @cherrylkd, @nancygedge, @aspiedelazouche, @rachelrossiter and @chrischivers have been great retweeters.

I have made new friends on Twitter through the growing and lovely @staffrm. I have been invited to speak at an event in London, for a coffee and chat in Bristol and learned of new assistive technologies and iPad apps.

Writing is a bit of a demon for me; I’ll never find it easy and to complete the #28daysofwriting I needed to make it chatty – discursive essays take me too long – perhaps the complainer had a point.

Two awards from me, the first goes to the funniest – @ellen_ellenboss for a late night post after being out with her department – coming home tipsy she writes about her failure musing on how students feel. Even the # has an error – I love it. staffrm.io/@ellenmerry/bH3j6qA…

Then, dear Rory, @eddiekayshun. He has written poetic, autobiographical and pedagogical blogs. You name it, he’s covered it – I have enjoyed every, single one, especially his Corsican stories.

Oh dear, this has turned into a speech. I’d like to thank my Mum, my dog….

I hope my series has been helpful to some; I know what a difference assistive technology can make. 80% of my job is teaching children how to read, write and spell but despite this, I recognise that they need help to access the curriculum and record their work right now – not once they’ve learned.

It makes sense to help these children; would we deny them glasses or hearing aids?

It’s logical to help them.

RIP Leonard Lemoy

Leave a Reply

